SKEPTICS FAQ

LINGERING EFFECTSDoes a Ghost’s lingering effects last only as long as the ghost is on the board? For example, with the Child Ghost, are the four separate icon sets removed once the ghost disappears, then re-trigger? Do you have to re-roll those again?

For most of the Ghosts, the lingering effects are active while they are on the board. Most of their instructions should be self-explanatory. A Shadow’s lingering effect, for example, is disabled temporarily if Summoned or Séanced. In the case of the Child’s lingering effect, this no longer applies once all of the four icons are resolved. Any Prove Action that is resolved on a Ghost’s icon set remains on the card permanently. This follows the Rulebook under ‘Action 6 – Prove’ on page 14.

CORPSEWhen the Corpse Environment Card is drawn and appears, do players only get two turns per character in total, or can we still use “free actions” that our items give us?

When the Corpse appears players are limited to two actions each, not including movement. For example, you can take Search, Prove, Solve, Summon, Pull, or Unlock Actions in any combination of two. Movement however is not affected by the Corpse, so a player can use a Move Action as a third Action. Any items that give you “free Actions” can be used as an extra bonus Action. Rules for the Corpse are on page 17 of the Core Rulebook.

GHOST HOUR/GHOST MODE What is the difference between the Ghost Hour and Ghost Mode?

The Ghost Hour is activated at XII and an Environment Card is drawn. The Ghost appears in a selected room, indicated by a drawn Room Card and uses its ability. Séances and Summons cannot be performed during the Ghost Hour.
Ghost Mode activates when all seven Clue Tokens have been revealed on the game board or if all revealed Evidence Tokens match each Séance symbol. It appears in a selected room, indicated by a drawn Room Card, at the end of every round at fifteen minute increments. Summons cannot be performed once Ghost Mode is activated and the Ghost uses its ability in this mode. A Séance can be made immediately before a Ghost Mode round is activated. The Ghost is always active in Ghost Mode, moving through each room, quickly ending the game.

MUSEUM SPACE – Does this count as one Space in the Museum?

Yes, in this example the left, center, and right staircases are all considered one space. This is determined by the Walls and white borders.

TIMER Question #1If you get a third timer token during a Séance, do you lose the rest of the Séance?

Yes, if a timer advances during a Séance, which at that point is also Ghost Mode, the Ghost Hour and Ghost Modes supersede. That player’s turn will end, the clock advances, and the Ghost reappears in a new location. If it is the end of the last players turn, the clock advances twice! Once for the timer, and once at the end of their turn (end of the round). In Ghost Mode the Ghost will in this case appear right when the clock advances AND at the end of the round. Timers are nasty!

TIMER Question #2 If a player gets the third timer token during their turn (advancing the clock 15 minutes) and there are other player(s) left in the round, does the ghost disappear or would they still have a shot at prove actions? This assumes it isn’t a Séance and ghost mode isn’t active, which is addressed in the rules.

Prior to Ghost Mode (end of game), the ghost is only able to be on the board while the clock hand is on 12 (unless it was summoned); so, if the third timer is revealed while ghost is on the board at 12, and the hand is moved to 3, the ghost will disappear. If it was summoned, it will also just disappear.

If it is after Ghost Mode has been activated, the third timer causes the ghost to disappear, the clock to advance, and a new room card is drawn making the ghost appear in a new room. The same is true if the ghost was Séanced, it will disappear from the Séanced room and follow the same flow as described above.

WOMAN IN WHITE – When the Woman in White appears on a player’s space, due to her ability, she would cause that player to move to an adjacent space. If the Claustrophobic Environment Card was drawn and a player was moved onto another player’s space, how should these events play out?

The effect of the Claustrophobic Card states that a player cannot occupy another player’s space unless they are moving through that player. So in this instance you would move either player to another space adjacent, ignoring closed doors.

POLTERGEIST If a Poltergeist’s Objects are placed onto a Fire or other obstacle as a result of an Environment Card, how are these resolved?

You can resolve either at any time, however certain obstacles will not let you leave a space or take any other actions until that obstacle is resolved first. Use your best judgement for these situations.